1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

My 62

Old 04-30-2013, 02:56 PM
62ESQ
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My 62

I think I finally figured out how to post photos. I spent Saturday going thru the engine, replacing oil, etc. Re-attched the choke cable and put on some new shocks. The engine starts and runs real smoothly. Not sure where to start with a restoration since I'm new to this, but decided to fix little things in the interior. A paint job is a ways off yet. Fixed vent controls and added seabelts. Did a thorough cleaning inside and out.

Has anyone tried replacing the little glove box springs. My glove box door is partially open and I found that the right side spring appears to be missing. do you have to take out the enire box just to change the springs?

Old 04-30-2013, 04:00 PM
old broke prospector
Elder User
You have to remove the box. You can get new box springs at several suppliers on line, check the list at the top of the forum first. If you order new springs, get some rubbers for the glove box and go through the on line catalog for other small rubber stuff you may need.

A nice quiet interior is a real selling point to the wife so a a great place to start on these old trucks is on the door seals, vent windows and an anti rattle kit. Easy stuff and it does wonders for your sanity.

If you repaint the interior, most likely all you will have to do is lightly cuff up the old paint or use a liquid scuffer/primer and rattle can paint it. New seat uphostry and matching visors and new carpet are a nice way to finish off the interior. This phase will spend about $900 to $1100 depending on how much the uphostry job is.

The next phase may be to replace the floor boards, steps, etc. if they need it..... and so on.

Old 04-30-2013, 04:27 PM
62ESQ
New User