1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1948 Ford F2 - Brake Conversion Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 03:14 PM
SizekingTx
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1948 Ford F2 - Brake Conversion Question

I have been reading many threads but its very hard to piece all this stuff together.

I am doing a frame up restoration and currently just completely disassembled the front brakes/spindle/kingpin/etc

I am considering converting both front and back to disc brakes. I have an 8 lug Dana 60 rear end that might not be original, but haven't looked at it any further to see what the gear ratio is. I am new to all this stuff.

What I would like is to find out where I can get all the conversion parts for everything needed to fix the front and back. I have found some links on this site but they just raise more questions for me. Who makes parts for the front, the rear? What master cylinder kit would I need?

For example: this site shows a conversion for the front, but the picture does not tell me how the unit mounts on the original spindle.
Ford F2 & F3

Thanks for any help.

Any suggestions?

Old 04-29-2013, 04:00 PM
Aud10mahn
New User
Welcome SizekingTX! The Streetrod Manufacturing kit works fantastic on these old trucks. This kit contains rotors that you would use to replace the drum on the original hub (remove the 3 retaining screws, if they are still present, and seperate the drum from the hub, install rotor over wheel studs), and the mounting bracket for the caliper uses the mounting plate (which is part of the axle) of the original backing plate. The spindle (axle), bearings, hub, seal, and bearing cap are all original pieces. Bearings, races, and seals are still currently available in the aftermarket from Timken, National, and others. The rotors are current production units modified by TSM to fit the smaller 1/2" studs your truck uses. This is why the rotor pictured has 16 holes in it.

-Stephen