Vacuum Control for Distributor 1956 272 on F100

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2013, 12:41 PM
martymagoo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vacuum Control for Distributor 1956 272 on F100

I'm looking for possible vacuum control units I can use on the distributor of a 1956 272. I believe it's the original distributor on my 1956 F100 long box. It only has vacuum advance (no mechanical). I'd appreciate any information for possible vacuum advance controllers that I can replace this with. The part number I have is FAB-12370-A but I'm no expert on this so I am not 100% certain that it's correct. Any information on units I can replace this with would be much appreciated.
The truck is pretty much original so I'd kind of like to keep it that way but I might also consider putting a newer distributor on it so that I have mechanical advance also.
Thanks for the help,
Marty

Old 04-26-2013, 03:29 PM
charliemccraney
Cargo Master
Received 51 Likes on 46 Posts
I'm not sure where to find the correct stuff for the original distributor. Try local parts stores first then the classic Ford places.

The '57 and newer unit will be a great way to go. It looks very similar on the outside and most people would never know the difference. It is simply a better setup.
Your carburetor will not provide the correct vacuum signal for the newer vacuum advance unit. You can cap it off at the distributor and use only the mechanical advance. You could run the vacuum line to a stock port on the carb, but plug the line with a piece of 3/16" rod to make it appear more stock but not functional. You can try manifold vacuum - that's what I use and it works for me.
Some of the older carbs can be modified to provide the correct signal for the new vacuum advance. Do you know which carb you have?

Old 04-26-2013, 04:37 PM
martymagoo
New User