General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Having fun in college

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2013, 01:20 PM
sm7482
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Having fun in college

So far college is pretty fun. studying mechanical engineering at oregon tech here in oregon. trying to sell my truck for college money but i need more threads in order to post in classifieds so do mind this one Although mechanical engineering is pretty neat, I've found i dont really have a passion for it. I love working on things of a mechanical nature and engineering my own solutions at a hobby level, but as far as career status goes I dont think it's for me. The classes aren't hard. Its my first year and i'm already taking vector calculus.... I just think its not what i actually want to do. I'm transferring to university of Arizona into the Mining Engineering program. I love the problem solving and critical thinking aspect of engineering but desperately do not want to graduate college and settle somewhere, in a shop or behind a desk for the next 30+ years. With this degree there's Huge oppritunity to travel and work out in nature as well as a nice desk job in the very far future. Thats my career path goals for now

Old 04-23-2013, 09:04 PM
rangerfan
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I understand what you're going through. I'm 38 and still have no clue what I want to do for the rest of my life. Till then I'm enjoying the hell out of searching.

Post your add on craigslist.

Old 04-23-2013, 09:18 PM
fmc400
MSEE
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts