1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

My 48 F3 Won't Wake Up!

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 02:51 PM
Rojak
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My 48 F3 Won't Wake Up!

OK... so I'm a bit of a novice at all this so I hope the good folks at FTE can help me out. I'm at the point where I'm really tired of looking at my truck sitting in the shed and since I've decided to have a few of my FTE friends over in mid-May I need to get "Older Blue" running. It's time for me to start asking some questions. I describe myself as having mechanical ability but not mechanical knowledge. Not sure if that makes sense. Any way...

We rebuilt the original carb and I got a new fuel pump from Macs. I'm running an auxillary tank until I get the original cleaned and sealed. At first there was no spark but after filing the points a bit we've fixed that. Fuel is getting to the carb (coming out of the fuel line that goes into the carb) but is still won't start. Would there be something I can troubleshoot with the rebuilt carb to see if that is where my problem is?

Old 04-08-2013, 03:51 PM
1948 F1dude
Tuned
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Has it not ran in a while? Do a compression check . Write down what each cylinder reads & after do a second compression check, but his time squirt oil in each cylinder first. If you have low compression on any cylinder the oil seats the rings & will tell you if it was rings when it rises & if it does not raise up it is the valve on that cylinder.. Dude

Old 04-08-2013, 04:16 PM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
Received 2,051 Likes on 802 Posts
Rob,

What engine do you have in the truck?

Did you adjust the carb setting? If the adjustment is all the way in you wouldn't be getting gas. I think the shop manual says to turn the adjustment screw in until it seats lightly and then turn it out approximently 1 turn.