1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Unique Tire situation/Reccomendations

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 01:17 AM
DSLDiesel
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unique Tire situation/Reccomendations

I have a 2006 F-350 CC LB DRW 4x4 currently running aftermarket Gear Alloy Wheels that are an inch wider than stock and have Nitto Terra Grapplers 285 70 R17. These tires are Load E rated 10 ply tires and I have absolutely no complaint about them. They are going to need to be replaced in the next month or two and I am contemplating an experiment and was looking to get you guy's feedback. I work in the oilfield in North Dakota and Montana. The roads I drive on are made of "scoria", a reddish crushed rock. It is very sharp and known for trashing tires quickly. I use my truck as a daily driver and the only thing I pull is my 5th wheel that runs 16k with 2k of hitch weight and I only do that once a month for a couple hundred miles at a time. I am wondering if I could run a cheaper Load D tire seeing as I replace them at least once a year anyway. I understand that you lose longevity and towing capacity but just wondering what you guys thought. Thanks!

Old 04-08-2013, 07:40 AM
MisterCMK
Fleet Owner
Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
No. D range tires on not that much cheaper. Why risk it to save a couple of bucks?

Old 04-08-2013, 08:58 AM
dualwheels66
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Do you have a link for those wheels? Or a picture?

Old 04-08-2013, 10:23 AM
texastech_diesel
Token Redneck

Received 89 Likes on 48 Posts