Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Misc. > Offroad & 4x4
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Offroad & 4x4 SPONSORED BY:

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2013, 12:52 PM
New User

valleyoaks is starting off with a positive reputation.
F-250 stock 4x4 auto hubs or aftermarket?

First I apologize if there is already a thread on this question. I'm a newbie to FTE. Just bought my first 4w4 superduty. 2000 F-250 crew 7.3. Truck has 200K on it with stock "automatic" hubs stuck in the locked position. I've been told that the vacuum seals deteriorate with age and some people just put on Warn or other manual hubs. I'm not a serious 4x4er, just need to get going in mud/snow around the farm, pull a trailer on soft ground, etc. I like the idea of an automatic hub so I don't have to get out when I'm already stuck (or almost stuck, due to poor planning, I know). So why not just rebuild or replace the stock auto hubs? Are there better aftermarket auto hubs?
Second question: how much is the mpg penalty of running locked hubs all the time?
Old 03-21-2013, 12:54 PM
New User

one more thing re 4x4 hubs

Sorry. Forgot to add, if there is an existing thread or other definitive info on FTE please direct me to it.
Old 03-21-2013, 02:23 PM
Postmaster

ManfredVonRichtofen has a great reputation on FTE.ManfredVonRichtofen has a great reputation on FTE.ManfredVonRichtofen has a great reputation on FTE.ManfredVonRichtofen has a great reputation on FTE.