1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Power steering options

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013, 07:26 AM
Kozo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Power steering options

Hi all,

A newbie here. I have a 1953 f100 with 302 and toploader 3 spd OD. I have the original strong arm steering now and am looking to go to power steering. I see there is the kit using the 79 to 84 toyota set up option, the mustang ifs option and at performance on line a bolt on rack and pinion unit. Any thoughts as to which route is best, easiest and will require the least changes. I am a novice wrench turner. Is this something I could take on myself? I should add that I want to do some additional mods later including front disc conversion, headers and dual exhaust (probably shorty headers), and possibly a lowering kit (performance online has some nice looking kits for this as well). Which steering set up is least likely to give me clearance issues later
Thanking you in advance for your advice.
Kelly

Old 03-07-2013, 09:47 AM
ben73058
Logistics Pro
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Hey Kozo,
Welcome Aboard! You will get's lot's of opinions on front suspension
alternatives. A lot of guys have installed the Heidt's Mustang II Type IFS - you can find the guidance you need on here for that one. Personally we went with a No Limit IFS for our 1950. Pretty pricey at $2.4K with new brakes & master cylinder - Parts Only. Another $2K for labor to install it.

Replacing your rear suspension is pretty straight forward - takes a weekend or two - well within reach of a beginner wrencher. A total front IFS replacement is a lot more involved - normally involving cutting into the frame & extensive welding - not a novice project. I wouldn't jump on that one as my first project. Putting in the Toyota Power Steering unit is something you could do as a good project.

Good luck over there. Posting Pics will get you more replys & interest on this topic.