1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Did I get a good deal for 1st project or in over my head?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2013, 12:32 PM
underglassbell
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Did I get a good deal for 1st project or in over my head?

Hello all. Newbie here, although I have been a lurker for ages. Had a dream for years to get a 60's ford truck, something like my granddaddy had - 65 f100 I believe. I especially love the look of the f250. Well after years of just dreaming I convinced my hubby that if we could find a good enough deal and truck it is time. He drives a late model caddy and doesn't really appreciate the classic trucks like I love. But he likes the idea of my trying to do more indepth car repair and maintenance and thinks this might be a good vehicle for me to learn to do that.

I would say I am a novice. Never done anything more than indepth than fluids, brake changes, tire changes, throttle body/sensor cleaning, helped hubby change plugs and coils on his caddy recently, and other small diagnostic testing on air system, etc... all with hubby's guidance and all on <10yr old vehicles.

So, I found a 66 F250 camper special and shook hands on the deal at $2500. I felt very confident about everything until my fear of not having enough knowledge kicked in. Now I am scared I may have made a mistake and not sure I can handle what may need to be done. But my thought was originally that the truck was in good enough condition now while I attempt what I can handle myself, nothing too heavy would need to be done. Owner used as a weekly pleasure/rec vehicle, and occasionally to haul light loads, But my inexperience keeps making me feel I have no idea what I am doing or getting into. But then I feel how will I make a dream come true if I never start.

I really respect the opinions here, so could you tell me what you think? Did I get a good deal or in over my head?

VIN F25YR776678

Some details: