6.2L V8 Discuss the 6.2L V8

Really DUMB question about towing...

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2013, 06:11 PM
devongarver
Tuned
Received 34 Likes on 17 Posts
Question Really DUMB question about towing...

OK, so I am a newbie when it comes to towing heavy. Let me rephrase that, I am a newbie when it comes to towing heavy-LEGALLY...I towed for years for a company I used to work for, but the equipment trailers were always overloaded. My wife and I plan to buy a toyhauler in the next few years, but don't want to take any chances of towing more than Ford or the insurance company says is OK. I do not care about warranty issues, I care about insurance coverage and liability if I get into an accident, and they find out my trailer is over weight and then they deny coverage-or worse-someone else sues me. SO, that being said, I have the "12.5k" hitch from the factory on my truck. Many of the toyhaulers we are looking at have a GVWR of 13k or better. Not to mention the tongue weight is over the 1250 lbs that Ford says is the max with a WD hitch. So what I am getting at here, is I found a nice hitch made by Curt, that replaces the factory one, and is rated for 20k GVWR and 2700lb tongue weight. What I want to know is if I can put this on, tow 14k, and be safe and legal. I can not seem to find an answer to this no matter where I search. Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks,

Devon

Old 02-11-2013, 11:27 PM
bikerman2299
Mountain Pass
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
If you're going to be hauling that much weight around I'd suggest going to a gooseneck or fifth wheel. B&W makes an awesome gooseneck hitch with a fifth wheel attachment. Titan makes an awesome bumper hitch too. I'd go with Titan and a good WD hitch setup if you have to bumper pull.

Old 02-12-2013, 10:54 AM
devongarver
Tuned
Originally Posted by bikerman2299