Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

Flashing Theft light on 2005 Ford Escape Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2013, 08:33 PM
David Vox Mullen
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flashing Theft light on 2005 Ford Escape Won't Start

My "Theft" light on my 2005 Ford Escape is flashing and I cannot start the Escape.

1. I tried the key that I had been using successfully for the last 7 years. , car did not start, Theft light blinked. ,

2. Tried wife's dealer key, Car won't start, theft light blinks.

3. Tried various things, such as manual locking & unlocking, turning alarm beeping on/off, disconnecting battery, etc. Nothing works.

Called the dealer, they say they know nothing. Must bring car in, they say. Basically I am screwed and now must spend big bucks to take it the dealer because of Ford's software bug.

Help?

Old 01-07-2013, 10:15 PM
wptski
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I have heard of anti-theft problems due to a bad battery. Can you get another car or jump pack to try?

Old 01-08-2013, 06:51 AM
projectSHO89
Hotshot
Received 872 Likes on 724 Posts
Tow it in. Troubleshooting a PATS system remotely is one thing the dealer was smart enough to avoid.

Old 01-23-2013, 09:37 PM
garman
Junior User
Try using your key fob, my friend locked his keys in his subaru and we slim jimmed it. His theft light was brinking and car wouldn't start, but we cycled his key fob all was good.

Old 01-24-2013, 06:22 AM
tomw
Logistics Pro
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
The most likely suspect is the sensor in the steering column. Unless the computer has taken a hit, it keeps the key codes that are 'legal' in memory, and compares your key(s) to the list. If the sensor dies, the computer will get no codes, and all keys will be 'illegal'.
I have no idea of the cost of the part.