1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

My build thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 10:20 PM
topmoo
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
My build thread

A woodworker by trade, this is my first total frame off build. I can tell you that the help available on FTE has enabled me to get as far as I have. Thanks to all here for all the posts that show how it is done, and for all the feedback when I ask things that seem simple to the ones who know.
Here are some pictures of the work I have done in the last year or so.

Cross member welded in, frame stripped and painted, TCI front coil overs installed, gas tank and Explorer rear installed with the new CPP springs and spring mount kit, cab gas filler hole filled and cab primed, cab painted, and cab mounted with new mounts. About 8 months, a little at a time.

Attached Images        
Old 01-06-2013, 10:42 PM
topmoo
Postmaster
The PO had some really bad work in this truck, like a motor mount that was just a flat piece of 1/4" steel bolted directly to the frame and to the SBC with no vibration dampers at all, and the trans crossmember was another piece of metal that had one bolt in the tail of the trans and the metal was just sitting on the frame rails, not welded or bolted. He also had covered over the rust holes and the seams in the two piece front fenders with a half inch of bondo and fiberglass. I really couldn't afford to change the motor and trans so it still has the sbc in it - but I ended up having to rebuild the motor and changing the th350 to a 700R4 (overdrive). I did some woodwork in trade for having the engine rebuilt and getting the transmission from a friend who has one of the best car repair shops in town.
Here are a few more pics:

Attached Images        
Old 01-06-2013, 10:50 PM
topmoo
Postmaster