Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2013, 05:41 PM
Senior User

Brant Bowrifle is starting off with a positive reputation.
WVO gelled in fuel system

I have no experience with alternative fuels, figured I'd run this past you guys who understand this stuff. I have a mercedes 300D I got for free (not running) and I will either put the engine in my bronco 2 or a scout, haven't decided yet. Problem is that it has been sitting for almost a year after being run on oil because the filter is full of it and I can see it gelled in the fuel lines. This vehicle never had any kind of a conversion heater system on it. I want to make sure it starts and runs fine before I bother with the swap but don't have a clue as to how to go about it. I assume that stuff needs cleaned out of the system or thinned down before it can be started, lol, 20 degrees outside and motor does not have a cooling system to utilize the block heater. Don't know if the block heater would even do the job... More importantly, I need to know if this scenario can cause damage to the injection pump, injectors, cause me to have to take in pump to be cleaned and so on. Though I got this car for free it doesn't mean I want to spend money on parts or labor, considering the cars go for fairly cheap around here. Hopefully you gents can educate me a little. Thanks for