A question for experts

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 05:47 PM
Honkey Lips70
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A question for experts

A question for the experts,

I've read that the proportioning valve/distribution block on a drum/drum system sends the same amount of fluid to both the front and rear brakes. So, what does this valve actually do besides house the brake failure light switch? Is there anything really wrong with just plumbing your brakes straight from the Master cylinder to a front splitter that will then run two separate lines to the front left & front right wheel cylinders, and from the master to the splitter in the rear, since the brake failure light switch isn't working anyhow? Seems like the easiest fix since the 1970 4x2 drum/drum "brake pressure differential proportioning valve-C8TZ-2B257-D" is obsolete? This is my first project, any insight is much appreciated. I know most of you guys are in favor of swapping off a donor for power disks, but I'm confident that the HD drum/drum system should be plenty of stopping power for the type of use I'm looking to get out of my truck, I am just in the process of rebuilding the brakes now and I am looking to replace all of the old equipment.
Thanks,
Matt

Attached Images  

Last edited by Honkey Lips70; 01-03-2013 at 06:30 PM.
Old 01-03-2013, 06:40 PM
armstrongfordtrucks
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
So, where did you read that, pretty sure if Ford designed it with the valve it's needed. I believe the front would have more braking power, less in the back. Back tires would lock up as there is limited weight on them.

Running over that family going to the mall would ruin your day.

Old 01-03-2013, 06:49 PM
JB78f150
Posting Guru
It makes sure that if you lose a brake line you don't lose all your brakes. You will still have front or rear. Definitely keep it in there. They are both get the same pressure because you don't have disc brakes. Disc brakes require more fluid.

Old 01-03-2013, 06:55 PM