Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Interesting Electrical Failure

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2012, 09:58 AM
volos
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Interesting Electrical Failure

Hey everyone, this is my first post here . I'm not a mechanic, but I normally switch out my own clutches and do my own head jobs (not the milling of course) as a general representation of my skill. This is only my second automatic transmission vehicle though. I also feel pretty comfortable on the electrical side of things.

I bought my first Ford, an '91 F250 with 130k mi, off a widow of a friend. I knew he had barely used it, and was original owner. It's had the usual problems of a car that did a lot of sitting, but I had thought I had everything running really well for about two months.

Then after work, I got in it to drive home and the speedometer, odometer, and radio are all dead. Rest of the panels and gauges are working, and the transmission started shifting hard. I assumed it was fuze and pulled off the road and checked both fuze boxes (if there's a third let me know, I'm guessing there is, I just couldn't find it/don't have a manual). I couldn't find a blown fuze.

At this point I crank it up and drive home in 2nd as this is a good gear for most of the drive, and immediately starting thinking about VSS and grounds. Get home and the VSS looks clean, and the wires seem to be carrying fine. I was going to grab a new VSS on the way home, but I was thinking with the radio out, there's a problem somewhere else. I'm really hoping it's not the ECU.

Any ideas where to start hunting? I've looked around the forum and seen a couple of similar things, but not quite this problem. Sorry if this is in fact a double post.