99 E250 4.2L Horrible Valve Clatter

Old 11-05-2012, 04:30 PM
musicmanjer
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
99 E250 4.2L Horrible Valve Clatter

Hl All,

This is my first time on the forum and was hoping for a helping hand on my problem. I have been working on automobile, tractor and motorcycle engines since I was 11 and have been VERY successful at it. I read through some of the posts on this forum prior to my post to gather info.

I have a '99 E250 van with the 4.2l V6, 140k miles. I've owned the van, with no issues, as part of a fleet for my now defunct electrical company (had to get a 9-5, bad economy). Anyway it has sat for about 4 years now and had a bad fuel pump, which I recently replaced and got it running again. I do recall that it began a pinging problem prior to the pump going out (wasn't gradual, just went out one day).

Ok, so when I begin acceleration, the engine clatters, quite badly. Not really dependent on RPM's, it just clatters badly on ANY acceleration. This acts as if the timing is WAY advanced and or pre-ignition, but on these engines there is no distributor to troubleshoot that. This is NOT a bad rod or top end bearing noise.

I checked the IMRC bushings and there was a missing one where the arm was disconnected from the right side. I fixed that and thought that would do the trick. No change. I don't see it moving when I accelerate and wouldn't know how to check it (i have the cover off when driving). Some say it could be the EGR valve, some say dirty MAF sensor. I have had NO "check Engine" light to pull codes from. I plan on cleaning the MAF, EGR and replacing the plugs and wires because the plugs are shot. I'm at a loss and need some direction, just to make sure I'm not barking up the wrong tree.

Also, another issue I have is the front end and steering wheel shakes like CRAZY at 50 mph. Ball joints? Tie Rods? how do I check them??

Hope this is not too much to ask!!!

Thanks and Blessings!!

Old 12-07-2012, 12:04 AM
mitch1204
New User