Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

coolent loss

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2012, 09:54 AM
Duncan Johnson
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
coolent loss

1991 F-250, 302, 150,000 miles. Coolent is disappearing with no evidence of leak outside engine. In mornings after driving previous day overflow is empty and radiator is down on fluid slightly. Truck runs well and shows no unusual exhaust emissions. I am not a mechanic and haven't found a good one. I have some ideas about problem but can't afford to make any mistakes. I can't determine if there is coolent in the oil. Where should I begin to find the cause? Should I park this truck until this is fixed?

Old 09-29-2012, 10:21 AM
DPDISXR4Ti
Fleet Mechanic
Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts
Originally Posted by Duncan Johnson
I can't determine if there is coolent in the oil. Where should I begin to find the cause?
Have you checked the bottom side of the oil cap? If you find something that looks like dirty mayonaise, you've got coolant leaking into the oil, most likely the result of a blown head gasket. In my case, the gasket wasn't so much blown as it was "leaking" due to two broken head bolts.

And yes, stop driving the truck or you will trash the engine bearings. Coolant makes a horrible engine lubricant.

Old 09-29-2012, 11:05 AM
big vann
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post