Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Performance, Engines & Troubleshooting > Other Ford Engines > 401, 477, & 534 SD Engines
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2012, 06:13 AM
New User

poates is starting off with a positive reputation.
Prepping 534 for long trip

Hi folks -
Newbie here, but grew up with C series trucks in the fire department and just bought one. 1970 C850. 5sp. Very nice shape. Fire body removed. But here's the question:

I need get it from FL to CT. It has 17K miles on it. I think I might drive it, burning the numbers off my credit card for fuel. What should I do to prep it? I don't know exactly where it's been recently and what condition internals are. It looks good and sounds good. I'm thinking things like:

- change all fluids and filters
- proactively change all belts, hoses
- maybe even change out the alternator if I can't tell age
- does this engine have flat tappets? should I make sure I have oil compatible with older engines (zinc/phosphates)
- transmission fluids, filters

And any chance I'd get over 5 MPGs given that it is empty?

Thx for your thoughts....

poates
Old 09-19-2012, 10:43 PM
Post Fiend