6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

This is prolly a 1 page thread at most

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2015, 01:04 AM
EO2SeaBee
Hotshot
Received 95 Likes on 45 Posts
That rental philosophy works great on smaller stuff. For bigger stuff, rent on Monday, spend the rest of the week learning it, spend two weeks using it and then turn it in. I've never messed with one of those small excavators, but they look like fun. Those little Bobcat loaders are fun too and can easily be self taught in a morning. It is nice not to have to worry about repairs on a rental, but the downtime sux while waiting. My brother and parents have a whole bunch of acreage covered in trees that they want knocked down and piled up to burn, and that would require an experienced dozer operator on at least a D-7 to spend two weeks solid to make it happen. Buying would be nice, because they could use a smaller tractor to accomplish the job over a much longer period, and they could do it at their leisure, versus having to hurry up to get it done. Additionally, my brother and dad could both learn by playing, once I've shown them some basics and techniques.

GTG 2016 sounds like a plan. I have a 32' bumper pull that I may or may not hitch up to bring. If I don't own a 5er by then, I may try to rent one. Everything really depends on what happens with tuition in the next few months.

Old 04-02-2015, 01:23 AM
Dakster
Lead Driver
Received 111 Likes on 37 Posts
You have a lot more to do then I ever did. Makes some sense there.

At least you have a bumper pull... I have thought about renting one as well. Probably not in AK though. Drive down, rent one somewhere between AK and the GTG... Return it, drive back. Get 18 mpg instead of 10 all the way... Just depends on where the GTG is and what is planned I suppose...

Speaking of tuition at colleges: