Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

2010 F-150 4.6L Transmission Trouble

Old 08-02-2012, 11:44 PM
wvbackcountry98
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 2010 F-150 4.6L Transmission Trouble

I everyone, I am a newbie here but treat me with respect. I have a 2010 F150 XLT, Super Crew, 4X4, 5.5' Bed, with the 4.6L 3-V V8 and 6-speed auto transmission. I purchased my truck August 2010 used with 3,200 miles. I now have 55,350 miles on it and counting. Well, throughout my ownership of the truck, I've always had transmission problems with it. A hard shift from 5th to 4th gear on the highway at speeds of 65mph plus.

Back in 2010 after I bought it, I put about 400 miles on it then it started the hard shift. It shifted with a hard bang like somebody hit the floor of the truck with a sledgehammer & you could feel it vibrate/thump when the cruise was set at about 70mph. I live in hill country, so every time I'd hit a hill, the truck would downshift from 6th to 5th, then 5th to 4th. The shift from 5th to 4th is where the bang occurred. I took it back to the local dealer and they suggested a transmission re-flash... well, they pop the hood to do the re-flash and come back out and tell me the re-flash is only available for the 5.4L.

So, I continued on with the truck doing this. About 3 months later I took it to the best local dealer around and they had just received the update to be able to re-flash the transmissions in this model for the 4.6L 3V.

They re-flashed it and it quit the shift until about 15,000 miles. Then the hard shift came back, so back to the dealer we go. Once again, they re-flash the transmission, problem solved until about 30,000 miles then it comes back. This time when it came back the shift wasn't as "hard" but it was still enough to make me worry about my truck. So they re-flashed and it we're good.