Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

7.3 Excursion Which Year(s) is Best?

Old 07-27-2012, 03:33 PM
jblakeman
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
7.3 Excursion Which Year(s) is Best?

Hey all I'm brand new to the Ford Truck arena searching for a diesel SUV. My current rig is an '03 Dodge Ram with the 5.9 H.O. engine so I'm familiar with the expenses keeping a diesel going. My Dodge will remain as the towing rig while the Excursion becomes the grocery getter....

In my search there were only 3 diesel rigs made recently by domestic brands: 05-06 Jeep Liberty (Italian engine, very little dealer support); 07-08 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Mercedes engine, expensive parts, complex EGR system, few made / dealer support); 90's GM Suburbans' (6.5 engine, weak block, lots of little electrical / fuel issues, old body style liked to sag / rust up here in the midwest); and finally the 00 - 05 Excursions (common Powerstroke engine, familiar SuperDuty chassis, plenty of support through Ford and aftermarket....)

I've already read enough on the 6.0 to rule that out engine out of the equation; don't want the economy of a 6.8, or the anemic (for this SUV) 5.4, which leaves the 7.3 engine that I'm looking seriously into.

Here's what I know so far about the 2000 - 2003's....
  • Engine wise, 7.3 had forged rods in 2000 and early 01, then powder metal rods thereafter....
  • Instrument panel, controls updated in 2002 - 2003 models, electronic HVAC controls, auto dusk to dawn headlights with clear lens out front, also a few other electrical controls updated in the interior.
  • Ball joints, brakes, and steering are issues (especially if still stock on trucks with over 100K like what I'm seeing currently...)
What I like to know from you all...
  1. What's the difference between the 00-01 7.3 vs. 01-03 7.3; do I need to worry about forged vs. non-forged rods...any other changes done to the 7.3 engine that should be considered when purchasing?