1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 09:02 PM
Smalls13
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Help

I found a 1949 F3 for sale that i want to possibly buy. What should i look for when i go to look at it?? whats a good price to pay for this? From what i understand its complete but has been sitting for many years. Im new to this and i love these trucks anything you guys think i should seriously consider looking at when i go to check this truck out?? Any help would be awesome.

Old 07-11-2012, 09:13 PM
sky56
Freshman User
I'm certainly no expert on these trucks and I'm sure the experts will chime in here soon. The best advice I can offer is take photos, write down the vin, look the truck over front to back and top to bottom, ask plenty of questions if the owner is able to answer them of course and take them with a grain of salt, and do plenty of reaserch on your own. I know that everyone will always try to get more for anything but search CL and eBay and other old car sites to see what is being asked for a 49 F3 and what condition it's in. Hope this helps

Oh yeah and I'm sure plenty of people are going to ask where you're located and where the truck is located too.

Take care happy truck hunting to you

Old 07-11-2012, 09:17 PM
HkyswiM
Tuned
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
I think everything depends on price as far as the condition you will be looking for. But I'd look at the body panels for large rot or dents, frame for any signs of an accident so you know it's not bent, body mounts to make sure there solid, drivetrain for leaks, smoking, etc. the tires if they claim it's drive able.

I paid 2000 for my 55 f100. Guy wanted 4 but he claimed it was a runner, which it was far from that so I offered him what I felt the body was worth. And it was solid, no rot at all and all panels were in great shape dent wise.