Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Disapointed in Electrical connection's.

Old 08-17-2012, 12:09 PM
warthog5
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Disapointed in Electrical connection's.

I just started my search for info and looking at new trucks.

Did a lot of checking online, but wanted to see them.

After opening the hood I took a peak under the rubber insulators on the battery cables.

There are several but I didn't have my camera to take a pix. There is a cable going to the starter and 2 smaller gauge cables going to the Power distribution box.

Look at the crimps. The lugs are wide open on the end exposing that nice shiny copper cable. They used barrel style crimps, instead of closed end style crimps.

This is the "Perfect" spot to get corrosion in. It will create a higher resistance and fail one day.

I work in the marine industry and do a Lot of rewiring of boats. So I'm **** on this subject.

Wished I had a pix, but it was on a new 2012 or 2013 F-150.

Check yours.....Seal it up with some Liquid Electrical tape. Or remove the cable and slip a piece of Shrink tubing with the glue in it over it and shrink it down.

Old 08-17-2012, 01:57 PM
CMOS
Laughing Gas
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Seriously, I plan to use a giant soldering iron and hot flow solder into my main batter cable connectors. I agree with you, oxidation will have an adverse effect on these unprotected crimps at some point.

CMOS

Old 08-18-2012, 08:43 AM
BMWBig6
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got any pictures for those of us with limited memory/imagination?

Old 08-18-2012, 09:05 AM
warthog5
Senior User
Sorry...As I said I didn't have my camera with me.

Open your hood. Look at the battery. See the Red rubber safety caps?

Pull the safety covers back out of the way to examine the actual cable ends.

Old 08-18-2012, 07:52 PM
stormsearch
Junior User
Originally Posted by CMOS