1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

What's your earliest memory of turning a wrench

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2012, 06:59 AM
cruisetopdown
Laughing Gas
Received 273 Likes on 109 Posts
What's your earliest memory of turning a wrench

My father is in town again this summer and we have been working in the shop on various projects together (feels like home) which got me thinking about the first time I turned a wrench. You see my dad is one of those guys that could jump in a mud hole and come out without spec on him...not sure how he does that, well, I decided it is because he has me doing his dirty work. we started talking about the old days and I instantly went back to my first days of turning wrenches.....We were at a pick & pull when I was asked to "just crawl under there and loosen that fitting", well that fitting turned out to be a power steering line, and being a newb, I had no clue what was about to happen As you can guess, I was squarely under the "fitting" so I could see what I was doing ..."just one more thread" and VIOLA!! instant fluid bath! ...I was about 10 or 11 years old then, but I learned quickly to stay to the side!!
Anyone have any good stories to share?
Hope everyone is doing well,
w

Old 06-28-2012, 08:03 AM
Doc
Logistics Pro
Received 128 Likes on 55 Posts
I remember being probably being 4 years old and having to hold a flashlight so my dad could change a U-joint on his F-250 in the middle of the night because he had to work the next day. He had me helping pretty much from the beginning. I have people almost get offended because I do a lot of my own work. Don't get me wrong, I am FAR from being a proficient mechanic, but I guess they see my profession and automatically realize that I probably can't screw in a light bulb. When people ask, I just say "I realize now why my daddy made me hold that flashlight for all those years."

Old 06-28-2012, 08:31 AM
calorchard
Senior User