Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remove Coolant Compartment Rust from Head and Block

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2012, 11:31 PM
hrvat
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remove Coolant Compartment Rust from Head and Block

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here, but I've been reading for a year or so now ever since I got my 96 4.9 F-150 (a straight 6).

Here's the problem I'm facing at the moment:

I've disassembled everything, down to just the block sitting in the truck (pistons and everything still in, etc). My goal is to do a full seal and gasket change and to get the rust out of the whole engine that has been plaguing my radiator/cooling system.

I recently got the block back from the machine shop where they trued the gasket surface and did a valve job, as well as (supposedly) sand-blasted it, gave it an acid bath, and checked it with magnaflux. I wasn't very impressed with the job because the coolant galley running all the way through the head is still coated with rust and has the same odd smell that the coolant system has always had.

As for the block, it also has a good amount of rust within it's coolant galley and I want to get rid of all of this. Taking the block out of the truck is not an option as I don't have the time or money to do that. So, my strategy is as follows:

Plug the block and fill it with an acid of some sort and let it soak for whatever amount of time is necessary depending on the acid used, then flush the acid out with water. (I've tested this out already, so the "how" is not a problem).

For the head, I would like to do the same thing which will be even easier since it is off the truck and I can move it around.