No electrical, completely dead, won't start

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2012, 12:23 AM
sjbrink
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No electrical, completely dead, won't start

-1978 F100, 2wd, 6 cylinder, manual transmission

Headlights don't work, interior lights don't work, won't start, completely dead.

I'm not very good at truck repair, but I thought I would try to fix the truck myself.

Got the battery charged, replaced the positive battery cable, ran wire brush over both battery terminals, ran wire brush over negative battery cable connection to engine block, ran wire brush over engine block connection with negative battery cable, ran wire brush over bolt connecting negative battery cable to engine block, replaced starter, and replaced voltage regulator(Autozone employee suggested this). Still won't start, still completely dead.

Searched the internet and thought that maybe replacing the fusible link would fix the problem. Removed the fusible link wiring(a picture is here: ). There is a wire that connects into the voltage regulator that appears to become one with the fusible link(there is a rubber tab that both the voltage regulator wire and the fusible link join into). On the one end of the fusible link after the rubber tab, there is only wire exiting the rubber tab. On the other end of the fusible link before the rubber tab, the fusible link and the wire running to the voltage regulator are separate.

How do I replace the fusible link, do I have to replace each and every one of wires shown in the picture above? Can I go to an auto parts store and get all of the above wires? Or can I somehow separate the fusible link from the wire running to the voltage regulator where they join at the rubber tab?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 06-19-2012, 02:09 AM
mikeo0o0o0
Hotshot
Received 203 Likes on 161 Posts
The harness in the picture is called the alternator wiring harness.