Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cheap performance upgrades???

Old 06-10-2012, 08:41 PM
mr.fordneck
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cheap performance upgrades???

1990 f150 5.0. I'm a college student so I don't have a lot of time or dough to throw around to upgrade things like the crankshaft, heads, etc. Any ideas? Here's what I have in mind for relatively cheap:
-tune up (duh)
-long tube headers
-chip/tuner (I only know about ones for modern cars and diesels)
-throttle body spacer/ new throttle body
-msd or mallory distributor/ ignition
-cold air intake

Old 06-10-2012, 09:14 PM
White 97 xlt
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by mr.fordneck
1990 f150 5.0. I'm a college student so I don't have a lot of time or dough to throw around to upgrade things like the crankshaft, heads, etc. Any ideas? Here's what I have in mind for relatively cheap:
-tune up (duh) Good idea!
-long tube headers Best bang for your buck!
-chip/tuner (I only know about ones for modern cars and diesels) no comment..
-throttle body spacer/ new throttle body Total waste of money!!
-msd or mallory distributor/ ignition search for 6L tuneup
-cold air intake ......... Even bigger waste of money!!

See text in red...

Old 06-10-2012, 09:18 PM
Midnite1987
Cargo Master

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
What he said ^^

Old 06-10-2012, 09:32 PM
mr.fordneck
Senior User
matter of fact, I just had a tuneup but didn't do the coil. I'll replace it and gap the plugs to the bigger size

Old 06-10-2012, 09:34 PM
Midnite1987
Cargo Master

Originally Posted by mr.fordneck
matter of fact, I just had a tuneup but didn't do the coil. I'll replace it and gap the plugs to the bigger size
also bump the timing to 13.5-14* from the factory 10* once you do the coil

Old 06-11-2012, 07:42 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 951 Likes on 755 Posts