Sponsored by: DP Tuner

7.3 shuts off while driving tested cps already

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2012, 01:27 PM
johnymcfudge
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
7.3 shuts off while driving tested cps already

Hello all I am new to the forums and a new owner of a ford truck.

The truck is a 2002 F450 7.3 diesel with about 120k Miles.

While driving from 45-70Mph the truck engine stops for about 1 second and starts back up by itself. I thought the problem was the cps so I replaced it with a ford CPS. Today the problem still persists. The truck engine turns off and comes back on, the tach drops to 0 rpm and so does the speed.

The Check Engine Light comes on and so does the water in fuel light and so does the Check Gage light. After I turn off the truck and start it back up the truck does not show the lights. I am new to fords and would appreciate your help.

EDIT: I believe I found the issue, but can't look into it today. While i was moving some of the wires on the truck I found out that if I move the red/black bunch just a little bit the truck shuts off and comes back on when i let it go. If anyone knows exactly what to look for then I will appreciate it Thank you.

Thank you.

Old 05-30-2012, 01:32 PM
Bonanza35
Lead Driver

Received 140 Likes on 100 Posts
I'd check all electrical wiring on top of the engine first. Even the wiring that goes to the big plug on the drivers side. They ware thur and short out sometimes. Also a sticking IPR sometimes do that on the HPOP. Do you have a scaner to check for codes. If so that would be a good step to let the guys on here help you better.

Chet

Old 05-30-2012, 01:35 PM
johnymcfudge
New User
Unfortunately I do not have a scanner. I heard ford trucks need special scanners to get all the codes. What would be a good scanner to buy?

And I'm sorry but what is the IPR and HPOP.
EDIT: I found the acronyms so I will check those and report back

Also is oil on the cps normal?

Thanks

Old 05-30-2012, 02:31 PM
Bonanza35