Cut accessory power when truck moves

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2012, 11:30 PM
RIKIL
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cut accessory power when truck moves

I have an accessory on my truck that gets power when the key is in the On position. I would like to have this accessory lose power when the truck starts to move. I thought that I might be able to tap into the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor) and detect some sort of voltage when the truck starts to move and this would be the signal to cut power to this accessory.

I am just learning about electronics so I am a novice at best, not sure if this this even possible. Would anyone know if I could set this up and what I would need to do it?

Thanks.

Old 05-21-2012, 09:22 AM
gfw1985
Cranky Old Guy
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I'd be leary of tying into any sensor to control anything it wasn't designed for. Kinda sketchy on your intentions, but a simple on/off switch would be better. But I'm sure you have your reasons.

Old 05-21-2012, 07:09 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,673 Likes on 1,352 Posts
You would have to build a complex electronic circuit, that would read the vss signal, convert it to a variable voltage, and then set the threshold to a transistor switch which then could activate a relay. All very complex with a lot of design work involved. Whatever you tie into the VSS has to be a very "lightweight" circuit (technical term would be "high impedance") so it can sample the signal, but not load it down and kill it for all the other devices that use it(speedo/cluster, tranny/engine computer, ABS computer, cruise control, etc).