Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88 F150 2WD EFI i6 to Carbed 351w swap

Old 05-15-2012, 08:01 PM
boostednick
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 F150 2WD EFI i6 to Carbed 351w swap

First off I would like to introduce myself. My name is Nick and I am new to the forum. I recently have taken a very serious interest in Ford trucks when my grandfather passed his 1988 F150 down to me. The truck just turned over 100K miles and is in VERY good shape for being 24 years old and was purchased brand new by him. Not a single bit of rust that I can see and the paint still looks new, original paint btw. The truck is a regular cab long bed XLT Lariat with the 4.9 i6 motor and manual transmission 2WD. I have big plans for this truck but I am new to Fords so I have some questions for you Ford experts, and YES I HAVE SEARCHED THIS FORUM MANY TIMES TODAY but I still have some questions that I cant seem to find answers too.

So heres my plan for my truck. Since the truck is 2WD I figured it would make a great street/strip project. I want to pull the i6 and manual trans out and drop a 351 Windsor long block with some sort of auto trans. Also I want to convert it from EFI to a Carb set up. All the researching ive been doing is starting to almost become over whelming so im open to all suggestions.

So here's some questions I have....

1. Which year 351 Windsor motor should be looking for and whats a reasonable price range for it?

2. Which auto transmission would be best for me to use? This is going to be a DD/weekend strip truck. So im sure ill end up using a mild stall converter and maybe a valve body and shift kit.

3. Is this going to require a specific mount kit?

4. Has anyone in the forum ever done this swap with a 2WD truck?