Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cranks/no start/no spark

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2012, 05:51 PM
twavor
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cranks/no start/no spark

Hey all,
Got a '90 F250 2wd 351 auto that I'm working on for my neighbor. I'm a mechanic, but this one has me pulling my hair out. I know I'm missing something stupid, but I just can't figure it out. I have searched and searched this site and others today, tried almost everything and still can't figure it out.
I've got fuel, I've got injector pulse, I've got battery voltage to the coil, I've tried two other coils, one new/one known good, I replaced the pickup in the distributor, but really couldn't see how that would be it since I had injector pulse. I just plain do not have any spark coming out of the coil. Once in a while I might get a little, but I'd really call it none. The truck actually ran for about a minute yesterday, then died. I can't get a pop, backfire or anything out of it. The truck just died going down the road. Why can't I get any spark?
Help!

Travis

Old 05-02-2012, 06:45 PM
ctubutis
Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts
My guess would be the TFI ignition module. Many parts stores can test them for you.

The Hall Effect (aka PIP) sensor instructs the module to fire the coil.

Old 05-02-2012, 07:02 PM
twavor
Freshman User
Originally Posted by ctubutis
My guess would be the TFI ignition module. Many parts stores can test them for you.

The Hall Effect (aka PIP) sensor instructs the module to fire the coil.
Already tried the module with a know good one, forgot to mention that. That was the first thing I suspected.

Travis

Old 05-02-2012, 07:06 PM
Plain Jane
Senior User