Edelbrock Performer intake manifold

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2012, 04:40 PM
jtindale
Senior User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Edelbrock Performer intake manifold

Hello All,

I'm rebuiling a 78 F250 and having the 460 rebuilt in it right now. I'm looking to upgrade the manifold to the edelbrock's performer series but I dont know if I should get the Performer or Performer RPM.

I'm having some minor improvements done elsewhere in the engine such as an upgraded cam, new pistons that will give me a higher compression ratio but I would like to leave the current D3VE heads as is. Also, I am using my existing edelbrock 750 cfm carburetor.

I'm really new to this stuff so any help would be appreciated.

Joe

Old 05-02-2012, 05:07 PM
monsterbaby
Hotshot

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
My preference is for the RPM. The performer is at best a alum version of the stock intake.

I actually perfer the weiand stealth better yet.

But some will chime in and claim that the rpm and stealth hurt low end. I have never had that issue but I guess on a dyno you MIGHT see a couple ft/lbs of loss below 2000 rpm but personally I don't run my gas engines that low much anyway.

biggest thing is make sure your cam and intake rpm ranges match.

Old 05-03-2012, 10:10 AM
jtindale
Senior User

Originally Posted by monsterbaby
My preference is for the RPM. The performer is at best a alum version of the stock intake.

I actually perfer the weiand stealth better yet.

But some will chime in and claim that the rpm and stealth hurt low end. I have never had that issue but I guess on a dyno you MIGHT see a couple ft/lbs of loss below 2000 rpm but personally I don't run my gas engines that low much anyway.

biggest thing is make sure your cam and intake rpm ranges match.

Thanks monsterbaby! I think I saw them use the Weiand in a 460 rebuild on power block tv. I'll look more closely at the weiand.

Do you need any sort of porting job on the d3ve heads for either the RPM or stealth?