Legal questions, road use WVO

Old 04-26-2012, 11:34 PM
Stephen67
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Legal questions, road use WVO

I'm just now getting into running WVO or bio-diesel and I'm trying to avoid any legal pitfalls I might not be aware of at the moment.

I plan on running WVO, though I'm curious on bio-diesel I don't see a huge cost gain at the moment and seeing as I'm a blacksmith and a welder having methanol around is just a horrible idea. Not to mention I'd really rather not have the FBI show up thinking I have a meth lab, lol. (Small towns, noisy people. Even years ago my parents had a run in them because of their Dental Lab).

My main concern is can I use WVO on the roads, or is it strictly an off road fuel? This is off road country so I would still benefit from it, but it would be quite nice to use it in town or on the freeway. I haven't been able to find any answers that don't deal with California and this area of the country (Montana and Wyoming) is way different legal wise in everything I've come across over the years. They did mention being registered and paying a tax on it, but I don't know if that would apply to my situation, I can't come across any hard information.

Anyone know? Have any place I can find information? Searching is leaving me without answers at the moment :\

Thanks

Old 04-28-2012, 09:08 AM
fabmandelux
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I have no idea how WY works..........But Oregon passed a law exempting homebrew biodiesel from state taxes. I've been running bio for over 7 years here in rural eastern Oregon, and have never had any problems. The local, county, and state cops know all about my bio use and have never gave me any problems. I would check with your state office's to see what they say.......

Old 05-08-2012, 08:47 AM
Ken_C
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts