6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Need help with a towing problem???

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2012, 12:46 PM
rockhi
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help with a towing problem???

I have '09 F-250 6.4 crew cab pulling a 5th wheeler. I am using Supertuner in tow mode. When I am going down the highway at like 60 and I have to slow down for moment then get back into it , it feels like it is slipping .I dont really know how to describe it actually..kinda like there is slack in hitch or trans slips for like 2-3 secinds then it goes right back to towing perfectly. I am new to towing 5th wheeler with the hitch in bed? any thought greatly appreciated. Truck has 27K miles on it . Never had a problem with tranny ? It just bothers me..

Old 04-10-2012, 04:46 PM
StanleyZ
Logistics Pro
Received 68 Likes on 31 Posts
Originally Posted by rockhi
I have '09 F-250 6.4 crew cab pulling a 5th wheeler. I am using Supertuner in tow mode. When I am going down the highway at like 60 and I have to slow down for moment then get back into it , it feels like it is slipping .I dont really know how to describe it actually..kinda like there is slack in hitch or trans slips for like 2-3 secinds then it goes right back to towing perfectly. I am new to towing 5th wheeler with the hitch in bed? any thought greatly appreciated. Truck has 27K miles on it . Never had a problem with tranny ? It just bothers me..
I've towed a 5er for over 10 years I'll see if I can help. Is this a new thing? all the fiver hitches have some front to back slack in them. On a hard stop they will slide forward and go clunk, then when you start off they will slide back and go clunk. Depending how much you are slowing, it could just be the pin sliding back in the hitch and going clunk.