6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Help Draining my Water Separator

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2012, 11:16 AM
ccrider1116
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help Draining my Water Separator

So before I post this, I have a feeling this is going to be a pretty easy process, so I kind of feel dumb even posting it. BUT, I need to know since I am new to having a diesel. I have read and been told that I need to drain my water separator, and I am unable to get to my owners manual at this time to see what it says. So, how do I drain the water separator and how frequently should I do it?

Old 04-05-2012, 11:49 AM
chi6488
Senior User
I do mine monthly. Under the driver side of the vehicle you will see the housing with a lever.

I drain for a 30 count and into a glass jar I can inspect and then pour it into a jug for oil changes disposal. If you are on incline might want to back truck in, rear high and drain. I had problems with a moderatly sloped driveway draining until it was too late

Old 04-05-2012, 01:27 PM
ccrider1116
New User
Originally Posted by chi6488
I do mine monthly. Under the driver side of the vehicle you will see the housing with a lever.

I drain for a 30 count and into a glass jar I can inspect and then pour it into a jug for oil changes disposal. If you are on incline might want to back truck in, rear high and drain. I had problems with a moderatly sloped driveway draining until it was too late
Thanks chi! I will do that today. I am not sure if the previous owner of the truck did any of this maintenance so I'm trying to figure out everything I need to do in regards to maintenance. I appreciate the info and if you have any other maintenance related things you do or think I need to check, (other than the standard oil changes/fuel filter changes) I am open ears.

Old 04-05-2012, 01:54 PM
Gearitis
Elder User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post