Aerostar Ford Aerostar

1996-97 8-cut locks

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 12:33 PM
asavage
Laughing Gas
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
1996-97 8-cut locks

For the past six years (though, not for the past two weeks; unemployed *again*), I've been a locksmith.

My '97 never got driven much since I bought it (800 miles in the past 15 months) because I drove a company vehicle or my partner's car; we only used the Aero when we needed a truck (new water heater) or to move the dog + relatives visiting from out-of-town. So, the list of maintenance grew & grew.

Now that I have some time and need to drive it again (ahem), I'm whittling down the list (plugs & wires, O2 sensors, 5R55e valve body gasket & EPC valve, sliding door bearings, disconnect the shifter/brake lock, etc. etc.). One of the items is the ignition lock, which has the infamous Ford spinning ears problem: the "ears" around the keyhole are no longer attached to the lock plug. This is very common, and can lead to a broken key, or if the ears misalign just right, the key can't be removed (or inserted).

Opening up my '97 ignition lock yesterday, I ran into something that I hadn't seen before: a guard over the poke hole.

Typically, to remove an ignition lock that can be turned to ON, on '84-96 Fords you can turn the key to ON, and push a spring-loaded pin located in a "poke hole" on the underside the column, to release the lock cylinder from the column. Several online guides for the Aerostar (notably, the Autozone guide) say that that procedure works for all years of the Aero.

However, I ran into a bolted-on guard on mine, that covers the poke hole. With break-away bolts holding it on.

I didn't have the forethought to take a picture before I took it apart; I'll try to do that when I reassemble it.

Meanwhile, here's a pic of the guard off the column.

(click on any image for larger)