Sponsored by: DP Tuner

For Those Considering Big Exhaust!

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 07:45 AM
Tugly
Hotshot
Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts
For Those Considering Big Exhaust!

I am not an expert on these trucks, nor am I a certified mechanic - so factor that into my statements here. I am a trained observer with AE and a sharp eye on my gauges while doing specific things on the same 45-mile drive to/from work every day.

I'm still collecting AE data after installing a 4" turbo-back exhaust with a Flo-Pro 6192 muffler, but I have one stark observation to share (80e Tune, red line disconnected, mods in sig.)
  • Stock WOT - boost leaps to 20 PSI and slowly climbs to 27 PSI as RPMs build (27 is max because wastegate bleeds excess).
  • 4" WOT - boost leaps to 27 PSI right freaking now and stays there.
My understanding of this - The stock exhaust was engineered for a peak boost of 17 PSI, so free flow up to 20 PSI boost makes sense. After 20 PSI boost, it takes a lot of pressure to overcome the flow restrictions imposed on the turbo drive turbine.

Increasing the exhaust diameter from 3.5" to 4" may make one feel like saying "Big whoop - only a 1/2 inch increase. I want more". Our friend pi reveals how much change 1/2" really is. The formula for measuring area in a circle is pi R squared. In casual terms, the area in a 4" pipe is 31% larger than a 3.5" pipe. Add that 31% to 20 PSI and you end up very close to 27 PSI. The exhaust math really applies to the drive side of the turbo, but the boost side is the one with the gauge - so I'm using that as a reference.