Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Performance, Engines & Troubleshooting > EcoBoost (all engine sizes)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

EcoBoost (all engine sizes) 3.5L Twin Turbo EcoBoost V6, 2.7 Twin Turbo EcoBoost V6, 2.3l/2.0L I4 EcoBoost Engines

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2012, 04:52 PM
Elder User

Rancheroracer is starting off with a positive reputation.
Turbo vehicle exhaust size

Can one have too big of an exhaust on a turbo vehicle? Specifically the Ecoboost F-150. I'm planning on installing a 4" system, (modifying the y pipe), but thought I'd ask first. The headpipes from the turbos/cats are 2 1/2", so the rest of the system needs to be at least 3 1/2" single pipe to equal that. Seems to me one would want the least restriction possible downstream of the turbos/cats. Please correct me if I'm mistaken, I have no previous experience with turbos.
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phillipians 4:13
Old 03-02-2012, 05:02 PM
Senior User

BrockwayMT is starting off with a positive reputation.
I wouldn't go too big too fast. Larger pipe means lower velocity. For a NA engine scavenging is important and if you go too big you don't scavenge well.

There's a practical limit to larger exhaust and I think for a 3.5 engine at normal (not 8000 rpm race) operating speed 4" might be beyond it.

'09 F-250 4x4 5.4/ZF/271
Old 03-02-2012, 05:18 PM
Elder User

It's not n/a, it's twin turbo, that's why I asked. Exhaust already taking pressure drops through the turbo & cats, seems low restriction would be better, but what do I know?
Old 04-15-2012, 12:40 PM
New User

Ducati1098 is starting off with a positive reputation.