1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

56 F-100 questions/advice please

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2003, 06:09 PM
USMC.Devil.Dog
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys, I'm new to these trucks and Fords in general hehe.

Anyways here's my situation. My dad has a 56 ford pickup thats been sitting a while. It is pretty rusty and has mainly been used for storage hehe. So I was thinking of taking it off his hands and turning it into a street/strip dragster.

It looks like it definitely needs a new front end, right now it's set up so the entire front end tilts forward (easy engine access) and possibly a new bed. What are my options here? Best for the money? I'm 19 remember and I will be working full time pretty soon plus school (will be in the marines after summer). I would really appreciate any advice. The cab is rusted on the roof as well. My dad mentioned the possibility of having the roof cut and welded back on or something?

The engine is a fairly mild 351 Cleveland 4v. He said when he first got the motor it was running 12:1 compression but he put in new flat top pistons to lower it to 10.5:1. The cam is a comp cam 494 lift 268 duration. What kind of numbers do you think it's putting down? Any suggestions on what to do to it first? I've never really been much of a Ford guy so I'm not sure. I know the heads are reworked with valves and springs. Not sure if they've been ported or not. The motor only has 15-20k on it and it's been balanced and blueprinted as well.

After I get the body into decent shape and put a new rear end in there (he snapped his old 9" with 3.73 gears in it) and right now it has 2.68's or something lol. He said the casing on one of the axles might be leaking so I'm not sure if I need a new rear for it.

Sorry for the long post but I would really appreciate the advice. If you have any other forums/info places for these trucks or the motor I would appreciate those as well