2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some tune-up tips for the 3V 5.4

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2012, 04:46 PM
Brimmstone
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Some tune-up tips for the 3V 5.4

I mainly live in the diesel section when I'm here so most of you don't know of me. I'm a master tech down in Texas and work on just about everything. Currently I work on tour buses but still wrench on the side. Got an 06 F-150 in this morning for the nightmare of changing the plugs.

First tip is when working on the pass side of the engine pull the ECM and bracket completely out of the way. Opens up alot of room to get to the last two plugs on that side.

Second tip use the E3 diamond fire plugs. They are a two piece design but are welded together in the hex area. I still use some copper anti seize on them to prevent future problems.

Third tip run two cans of seafoam through the engine first with a full tank of premium. This will help soften up the carbon and make the plugs come out easier.

Final tip is for removal use a 3/8 impact to spin them out. The one I did this morning had 150k+ on it with original plugs. I got on it about five minutes after it showed up. All the coils and other items out of the way in another five. Six of the eight plugs came right out with this method. The two that snapped I got out in about five minutes with the Lisle tool.

Hope this helps some of you with a job that is normally a pain in the butt.

Old 02-25-2012, 04:54 PM
Coskid
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Yeah you about covered all the tips for removing the plugs but I think many around here who have done the plug changes will disagree with the use of the E3 plugs. These engines seem to only like the motorcraft plugs as many people are changing them again within 10-20k if they used something else. A small amount of anti seize and the plugs come back out the next go round so that is easily solved.