F150 4.6 MASSIVE Rebuild (Need Help)

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 02:13 PM
nikolasbarrios
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F150 4.6 MASSIVE Rebuild (Need Help)

So my wifes truck decided to blow a head gasket. Now im going to "completely" rebuild the engine and plan to twin turbo it afterwards. I really need some help in choosing the less common parts. I am on a fixed budget but i also want to be sure the engine I build is going to hold up to the extra power. I plan on using two T3/T4 turbos and a massive intercooler, complete exhaust, (port and polished head, intake, and exhaust), MSD ingnition. (((((Later im going to change the throttle body and the cams then the heads.)))))
All advice and concerns are more than appreciated.
Help me out guys.

Old 02-15-2012, 07:33 PM
Monypit
Freshman User
I am no expert, but I guess you already know about turbo cams, forged rods and pistons. I would want a forged crank also. I didn't build my motor, but VT Competition Engines did, so I know it has all the right goodies in it. I know you say your on a budget, but there are some things that you can't afford to go without if you want it to stay together and have piece of mind to boot.

Old 02-16-2012, 06:19 AM
nikolasbarrios
Freshman User
I really dont think i need a crank and a cam for the strength. The turbos I plan to use are small and I dont think i'll be able to do any damage to the crank with them. I do plan on forged pistons, connecting rods, and wrist pins for the strength though.

Old 02-16-2012, 08:09 AM
Monypit
Freshman User
Originally Posted by nikolasbarrios
I really dont think i need a crank and a cam for the strength. The turbos I plan to use are small and I dont think i'll be able to do any damage to the crank with them. I do plan on forged pistons, connecting rods, and wrist pins for the strength though.
The cams would be designed to work better with a turbocharged engine. The cams in my motor are stage 2 blower cams for example.