1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Electric fuel pump - trying to crank after long dry spell

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 03:41 PM
19fifty4
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Electric fuel pump - trying to crank after long dry spell

I've been getting some help from you guys as I attempt to get my recently purchased 52 F1 fired up and running. To refresh / has not been cranked in a dozen years / previous owner long since dead / everything basically stock except the small block chevy under the hood. I need some guidance on getting this thing started. It has an electric fuel pump and I have no experience with these. I can tell it's not getting any fuel so how do I go about troubleshooting this thing? Here's where I stand so far...

1) I changed all the rubber fuel lines and replaced the filter fore and aft of the electric fuel pump.

2) I changed the oil, oil filter, and air filter.

3) The top radiator hose was missing so we had to get one as close as possible and modify to fit. So far, pleased with the result but time will tell. Flushed the radiator and somewhat surprised to see the amount of acorns and slop I was able to bubble out of the top. It had a cap but since the hose was missing I guess the critters used the back door. I think I got that thing pretty clean.

4) Installed a new battery, found a key that would work, located the kill switch, hauled out the fire extinguisher. Ready to roll or so I thought.

5) Motor turns over pretty good but I don't see any evidence of fuel moving thru the line. The filter between the pump and the carb is the see thru variety and I don't see any gas in the filter canister. When I turn the ignition key I can hear the electric fuel pump clicking (I think that means it's working) but am not sure if it's working properly.