Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Considering Manual V10 - Coming from 04 Lightning

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2012, 08:12 AM
Ron Earp
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Considering Manual V10 - Coming from 04 Lightning

I've located a 2008 Ford F250 with a manual tranny, 2WD, and standard cab - sort of my "dream truck". I don't know a huge amount about the V10 other than what I've read here and on the net, but I do have some questions.

*Are there any known problems with the 3V 2008+ models?

*Does the manual transmission get markedly better gas mileage than the auto? What sort of mileage can I expect on the highway, around town, and pulling 8000 lbs?

*Any known problems with a manual transmission version of the truck? Would you advise for or against it?

I've been towing my race trailer with my Ford Lightning for seven years. All up I'm around 7300 lbs and the Lightning does *reasonably* well with the load. And, when I'm not towing it is fun to drive.

I'd like to replace the Lightning but I'd really like something fun to drive as a replacement, hence why I figured I might like a manual tranny truck. And, undoubtedly it'll tow better than the Lightning as well. So, any information you V10 owners wish to share along these topics would be very welcome.

Thanks,
Ron

Old 01-31-2012, 07:02 PM
Fordfanatic4life
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
the manual SD truck isnt gunna be fun to shift like your lightning..

its a work truck config. strong and capable but FAR away from fun/sporty..

def. test drive it before commiting. you most likely wont be "excited" to drive it like your Lightning.

Old 01-31-2012, 07:17 PM
mwsF250
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
An '08 could be considered the best of the breed... Really, really great trucks. And a manual behind a V10 is extremely rare!

It does still use aluminum heads so you can't go gorilla on spark plug installations. But the '08 has a lot of threads so they are really hard to screw up.