Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Any problems with the 2012 ecoboost?

Old 01-30-2012, 08:23 PM
lindbm5
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any problems with the 2012 ecoboost?

New to the forum and I have some questions about the F150 ecoboost. I have been a gm driver my whole life and now need a new truck. I just bought a tractor and need to tow it between two pieces of land about 200 miles apart. I just don't think my 06 silverado is up to the task of towing the 9k lbs, especially since it's about 1700 lbs over the towing capicity of that truck.

So after a long search as much as this hurts i have decided on the f150 ecoboost. My concern is the problems I have read about for the 2011 ecoboost. I understand that it was the first year that they put that engine in that truck, I just want to make sure most of the bugs have been worked out before I invest my money in a truck.

Any info is appreciated

Thanks

Old 01-30-2012, 10:01 PM
capn kirk
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
what problems with the 11? Mine and most others are trouble free. Main thing I hear is people not getting as good of mpg which tends to be a programming issue or more likely a heavy foot issue. Most anything else i heard of was fixed after a program flash.

But you're right 11 was the first F150 ecoboost and i very much understand waiting a year to see how it plays out and thus far looks like the ecoboost is more than holding its own in durability. Mine carried 2700lbs of sand in the bed the other day no problem... well the suspension knew it was there but the motor didn't

(ignore my signature old truck)

Old 01-31-2012, 05:56 AM
lindbm5
New User
Thanks for the reply, I read about some minor transmission issues hard shifts mostly, but the big problem that caught my eye was the loss of power while trying to pass on the freeway. Most people that reported the problem said it felt like a misfire.