1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

E4OD to ZF5 - In Process

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 08:57 PM
TyBragg
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E4OD to ZF5 - In Process

I'm new to FTE, and I'm a new Ford Truck owner. I recently bought my '97 F250 7.3 PSD Extended Cab Long Bed truck after months of searching for a 7.3 and lots of research. I finally found this one and bought it. So far, it's been a great truck, except that it's an Auto (E4OD) and I really wanted a manual. I didn't know about any of the troubles that many folks have this this trans, until my O/D light began blinking and I began researching. My father-in-law has owned a lot of 92-96 F series trucks, so he has a lot of good advice to offer, and he's a great mechanic. He told me that the E4OD is known for having problems behind the diesels, and that the 5-speed was much better during these years. So, we decided to consider doing a swap and recently began looking for a donor truck. This website has been a great asset for information about doing the swap, and I want to start this post to follow my progress with the swap and post lessons-learned for others to use, and also because I know I will run into problems along the way. I welcome any comments, advice, notes, suggestions, or corrections along the way.

We found our donor truck this last Tuesday in an ad in our local trading paper. It's a '94 F250 IDI (so we thought) ECLB with the ZF5, so it is perfect as a donor truck. My father-in-law stumbled on a poorly written, non-descriptive ad in the paper and called, and luckily it was prefect. Price...$750. So I took it, knowing that this was as close as I would come to getting my exact truck. Runs good and drives good.