6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

My experience buying used 2003 F250 6.0 diesel

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 09:17 AM
bobby_rogers
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My experience buying used 2003 F250 6.0 diesel

So I bought a 2003 F250 diesel 6.0 with 127,000 miles that had been on a ranch. Thought I was getting a great deal at the time for $11,000 which I still feel good about after all my experiences but I didn't understand the learning ramp I was getting into at the time. I post this in the hope that others may find my experience useful and please understand every conclusion herein is my own opinion and I do not express that I am an expert.

Issue bad ride (the shakes):
Resolution: Found out I just had to get rid of the steel rims as they were out of round. As I looked around it seems that a lot of people have aftermarket rims maybe for this same reason. The new alloy rims helped with braking distance and I think about 0.5 mpg improvement. Also got the Falken Rocky Mountain tires for mixed driving. I had to play around with the tire pressure and put a little wear on the Falkens before I was happy with them because initially the truck felt real loose. Replaced shocks and sway bar bushings. All is good now.

Falken Tires about $150 each:
Tire Products By Vehicle - Discount Tire

Black Alloy Rims $110 each: (Edit the center caps didn't fit on the back wheels but I liked the look better without them)
Wheel Details - Discount Tire

Issue rough start at cold and hard to start if warm then set for 30 minutes or so: