1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Making a non-emissions controlled engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2012, 10:55 AM
granny_rocket
More Turbo
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Making a non-emissions controlled engine

My truck came from the previous owner(s) missing several key emissions parts. Rather than try and put it all back together I want to remove it ALL! The cat was blatantly removed, and there appears to be no other electronics except the ignition which may have even been replaced however I don't know. The ignition module on the drivers side wheel well has wire nuts splicing something together and says "standard" on the box...def not a motorcraft part unless ford used standard brand products. I'm still kind of new to ford gas engines as I've only owned diesels in the past. I myself removed the AIR pump but left the piping in tact. The engine has an edelbrock performer and matching intake.

I guess what I'm asking is what else do I need to do to turn this into a non-emissions engine? Should I look for a different distributor or what? As of now the truck isn't running right and is sucking fuel down like no other. I'd like to at least eliminate the "emissions" factor from my troubleshooting here.

Again I'm not familiar with ford engines so any input as to how this works or should work is MUUUUCH appreciated!

The motor is a 302 with a 3 speed auto trans.
Al

Old 01-05-2012, 11:18 AM
351M
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you need to go through the wiring for the electronic ignition, and tune the carb. "Standard" is probably a jobber DS2 box from Standard Motor Products that may or may not have come with plugs. What year engine is this?

Edit: Standard's ignition modules all come with plugs. The previous owner could have been tracking down problems before selling it.

Old 01-05-2012, 11:30 AM
granny_rocket
More Turbo