Sponsored by: Moser

Ecoboost with MBRP towing clip

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2011, 05:15 PM
adamsre
Senior User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ecoboost with MBRP towing clip

Ok, as promised I made a clip of my 2011 Ecoboost towing my 5-6K trailer with a 3" cat back MBRP exhaust. I gained over 2 mpg with this exhaust (MBRP) and intake (aFe) while towing. So far while not towing it only seems to have given roughly a 1 mpg increase over stock. I can barely hear the exhaust at highway speeds after the truck shifts into 5th and 6th gear. The wind noise is literally louder than the exhaust at 55 mph! Crappy video but I am not a professional film maker.

http://youtu.be/7X19A4D6tpc
<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

Old 01-01-2012, 08:05 AM
96sherm
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
definitely doesn't seem obnoxious or embarassing at all. Might be something to consider.

Old 01-01-2012, 09:15 AM
08mike250
Junior User
nice set up

Old 01-01-2012, 10:39 AM
adamsre
Senior User

Thanks, I like it!

Old 01-01-2012, 12:01 PM
Pool Runner
Elder User
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
IDK.... The sound of the EB with the exhaust sys accelerating is pretty close to the sound of that import car going by. I still don't believe there is anything that can be done to make any V6 sound good. If I were to close my eyes while listening to the video I picture in my head a '99 Camaro or Firebird V6 with a glasspack accelerating.

Old 01-01-2012, 12:25 PM
5 Star Tuning
Former Vendor
Received 63 Likes on 35 Posts
Sounds pretty good, thanks for posting up

Old 01-01-2012, 02:23 PM
flixden
Posting Guru
I am wondering: if this gains 1-2 mpg, why would Ford not use it to improve the numbers? Is there a drawback?

Old 01-01-2012, 08:04 PM
adamsre
Senior User

Originally Posted by Pool Runner