6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

White Smoke and tow/haul

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2011, 10:55 PM
Topdawg360
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
White Smoke and tow/haul

Hello FTE,
I hate to beat a dead horse, but I have been crusing the forums for about two days on white smoke issues and I haven't found an exact to meet my situation. I bought the truck used in Sept this year and it drove good. That day the check engine light came on and and AutoZone determined it was an EGR problem. I drove it another month and changed the oil with Delo (4 gals if I recall) and the filter with a motorcraft. It started to struggle after that and didn't accelerate as well, this is my first time with a diesel soo I figured that if I don't drive it enough it will drive worse (is that true) and thought that was the issue.

Just last week it started producing some white smoke and just three days ago the tow/haul started flashing and the truck couldn't accelerate to save its life. So I turned right around and put it back in the driveway. I just cleaned the EGR valve tonight the best I could and bolted it back in and tried to do a test drive but it kept smoking worse (it seemed) and it smelled a little different . I checked the coolant reservoir and it had yellow coolant in it. I'm lost on what to do and I really want to trade it in for an 08 but I know they won't give me much if it has issues. I'm honestly looking for the cheapest fix possible so I can get the best trade in. Willing to work hard and answer questions sorry if I rambled but I could use some knowledgeable help. Thank you for your time!

2005 6.0 turbo diesel automatic. XLT. 124k miles.

Old 12-25-2011, 04:46 AM
bismic
Fleet Owner
Received 2,490 Likes on 1,727 Posts
Does the exhaust smell like fuel? What EGR code did you get? Sometimes the EGR valves go bad and need to be replaced.