2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Axel question on my 06 f150 2wd

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 09:48 PM
nbfrost
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Axel question on my 06 f150 2wd

Hello all this is my first time here , and I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on my issue . I am a diesel mechanic , and I am having trouble with my rear axel slipping in my lsd. I have changed fluid to royal purple gear oil for lsd rear ends , added the friction modifyer the whole bit . im going to try and swap the oil for the 140w90 synthetic that they reccomend ,as well a the friction modifyer . I guess my main question is , my axel is a dana 60 and it has 4.11 for ring and pinion in it . Its my old service truck , but now since i bought it the box isnt on it anymore and my tools are in my new truck , so i want to put a lower sped axel for better mileage in it , but im wondering what will work . its a 2wd with a 8 foot box . What model year do you reccomend that i put in it to give me good mileage and low rpm in my motor in overdrive ? All i will be hauling is a bale of silage once and a while or my sled . Thanks in advance , im stuck lol

Old 01-03-2012, 06:53 AM
MCDavis
Hotshot
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Just need to clarify something.
You have a 2006 F150 with a Dana 60 axle assembly? Shouldn't be the case unless it was replaced sometime later. The stock offering (even on payload package models) is a 9.75" ring gear. The available gearing option should be a 4.10. You can find other stock F150s with a 3.73 or a 3.55.

If you're really having issues with the limited slip, the you could replace the entire assembly to something like the TrueTrac from Detroit/Eaton.

Old 01-03-2012, 09:35 AM
Coskid
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts